Nine years ago, when I turned 21, I was a student at the University of Missouri in Columbia. She was a substitute hostess on the 19741976 daytime edition of High Rollers. Petticoat Junction was such as instant hit that it finished fifth in the Nielsen ratings the first time it aired. It was a spin off of the popular TV show, The Beverly Hillbillies. Linda Kaye Henning was born on the 16th September 1944, in Los Angeles, California USA, and is an actress, best known to the world as Betty Jo Bradley in the Read More WHAT'S POPULAR TODAY When lines hunglimp and bare. To neighbors passing by. Try again later. There was a method to it and I had to learn the way exactly as Mom taught me how. Inspired in part by memories of camping trips to the Ozarks as a Boy Scout, Henning came up with a fish-out-of-water idea for a series that made television history: A poor mountaineer unexpectedly strikes oil and moves his newly wealthy family out of a cabin in the Ozarks into a mansion in the hills of Beverly. Mom had shown me just how to take the clothes pins and pin the next piece together with the one hanging already hanging there so there would be a continuous line until every thing was pinned on the line. . Wash dayon a Monday..never hang clothes on the weekend or Sunday for heaven's sake! That meant that Arthur had to go open the doors at the store,Marie was to tidy up the house and change the sheets on the bed, Davidwas to split the wood to make the fire under the important old black kettle out in the yard to heat the water to start the wash (photo 23), and then my chore was to get our 88 year old grandpa up. In Ruths words: My grandparents, Willis and Martha Burris had this hotel in Eldon, Missouri. Ruth was the mother of three children Carol Alice, actress Linda Kay Henning, and Paul Anthony Henning. When Ruth went to Chicago to find bigger acting roles in 1937, she heard about an opening for a writer on Fibber McGee and Molly. Henning submitted a treatment for an episode an